January 29, 2023

ICBA invites submissions for Earthshot Prize

The search for the winners of The Earthshot Prize 2023 has begun and ICBA is proud to continue in its role as one of the official nominators. Launched in 2020 and with the first incredible winners announced in October 2021, The Earthshot Prize is the most prestigious global environment prize in history, aiming to find new solutions to the world’s biggest environmental problems.

As an official nominator, ICBA is one of nearly 350 organizations from across the world, invited to submit nominations for The Earthshot Prize.

The center will be nominating individuals, communities, businesses and organizations whose solutions make the most progress towards achieving the five Earthshots – simple but ambitious goals which if achieved by 2030 will improve life for all, for generations to come. The five Earthshots are:

Protect and Restore Nature

Clean our Air

Revive our Oceans

Build a Waste-Free World

Fix our Climate

The Earthshot Prize will consider solutions which make tangible progress towards one of the five Earthshots. They should be beyond idea stage, have tested their solution in-field or with target audiences, and are at a ‘tipping point’ for scaling their impact within the next five years.

If you have a sustainable solution for the agricultural sector that contributes to one or more of the above Earthshots and is inspiring, inclusive and impactful, please complete the nomination form and send it by email to earthshot@biosaline.org.ae by or before 15 January 2023. Please make sure to indicate “Earthshot Prize Application” in the subject line.

You can find out more about the prize, ICBA’s role as an official nominator, and the five-stage process for selecting winners at www.earthshotprize.org.

After nominations are submitted, they are screened as part of a rigorous assessment process culminating in selection of five winners by the Earthshot Prize Council. Finalists and winners are given an incredible platform to amplify their work, as well as tailored support from The Earthshot Prize and its network of NGOs, businesses, governments, funders and expert mentors. The five winners also receive a one-of-a-kind award and a one-million-pound grant to scale their impact.

Source: International Center for Biosaline Agriculture